SoulAndJazzAndFunk.com reviews Urban Funk Heroes And Legends Thursday, 18 November 2010 19:47 Bill Buckley Urban Funk are a US band whose music isn't quite the funk that their name implies. Rather, the sound of Urban Funk is the sound of smooth jazz. On this 13 tracker you could make comparisons with outfits like Spyro Gyra and the Rippingtons, though in fairness these Urban Funksters offer, in places anyway, a little more bite and attack. Throughout it's all pleasing, pleasant and polished and like most classic smooth jazz sets the repertoire is a mix of originals and covers with a smattering of vocals thrown in for variety.Indeed two vocal covers are the album's highlights – probably because of their familiarity and accessibility; they are Marvin Gaye's 'Mercy, Mercy Me' and Bobby Caldwell's 'What You Won't Do For Love' – two great songs to begin with and Urban Funk don't stray too far from the originals. In vocalist Tommy Lepson, though, they've found a real talent... no histrionics – just honest soul singing. The other covers are takes on Bob Marley's 'Is This Love', Christopher Cross's 'Sailing' (both very light), Steely Dan's 'Josie' (some great, driving sax from Wayne Sulic), Chick Corea's 'Spain', Santana's 'Samba Pa Ti', the film theme 'Black Orpheus' (all chosen to show the band can "do" Latin properly) and Stevie Wonder's 'Ribbon In The Sky' ( great keys from Steve Long here). That leaves a quartet of original tunes of which the opener, 'Urban Phunk' is the strongest. It rides a great soul groove and features catchy rifffing from the three piece brass section. 'Under The Sea' is another goodie – more flavours of Steely Dan... clearly the band dig Becker and Fagen. More established smooth jazz outfits would be rightly proud of these two cuts and you can find out more about the album on www.saxmanpro.com , while the album is currently available from CDBaby.   www.soulandjazzandfunk.com ” - Bill Buckley

Soul Jazz And Funk

    Wednesday, November 17, 2010 Smooth Jazz Gateway reviews Urban Funk Heroes And Legends http://www.smoothvibes.com/Ronald Jackson's Smooth Jazz GatewayUrban Funk – Heroes and LegendsBringing us some East Coast jammin’ is this MD-based group, Urban Funk, which does a really decent job of incorporating a solid group of covers with some competent original material to create Heroes and Legends, a nice collection to add to your smooth jazz goodies.Designed with the intent, as the group says, “to pay homage and elaborate on the creativity of our teachers, gurus and masters of an art form we love” as well as to “add original material as the culmination of the experiences performing, recording and representing the pulse of the eras in we which we participated,” this album obviously has a direction. The covers are nicely interpreted though only conservatively tweaked. I suppose that was to drive home the point that the approach to these tunes was to preserve the integrity of the compositions and to show respect for the work of those coming before this group. A noble gesture.The original material suggests that the group didn’t just sit down and bang out a few notes, record them, and thrust them forward without regard to the listening public’s sensitivities.After a funky and snappy opening track, their original “Urban Phunk,” the group goes right after Steely Dan’s “Josie,” a brave gesture in my opinion, since I highly respect Steely Dan’s work, and it handles it most effectively.There are other examples of some satisfying quality playing (and singing, as is evidenced on Bobby Caldwell’s “What You Won’t Do For Love,” sung here quite well by one Tommy Lepson), and you can hear that time was truly used wisely-- and not wasted-- in creating this production.Posted by Ronald Jackson at 8:28 PM ” - Ronald Jackson

Smooth Jazz Gateway

Thursday,   Wednesday, February 24, 2010 Coconut Times Reviews Urban Funk's Heroes And Legends Now what got me thinking of those sexy men on sax was a blast from the past from our old friend Wayne Sulc who played with Jr. Cline and the Recliners for many years in several clubs here. Most of you know that Darryl (aka Jr.) had some health problems that prevented him from performing but he’s back and better than ever. Wayne told me they have played a few dates and are working on a return to Fager’s Island - maybe. Let’s hope, right? Anyway, Wayne has continued playing with several groups over the past few years doing everything from jazz to salsa, and now has assembled a group of superb musicians to produce a CD of Urban Funk titled Heroes and Legends. I can tell you I am really enjoying this collection of songs, most of which are arranged by Wayne Sulc with vocals recorded by another person with whom we are quite familiar, Tommy Lepson. The CD opens with the jazzy cool instrumental “Urban Phunk,” one of the originals on the CD, composed and arranged by Steve Long, that immediately captured my attention. Next is “Josie,” by Walter Becker & Donald Fagen, a superb arrangement by Mr. Sulc that is mostly instrumental with vocal tags by Lepson and Jennifer Smith. Following is “Mercy Mercy Me,” composed by Marvin Gaye, that is another combination of arranging genius and musicians’ triumphant performances. Another highlight for me is “Lourdes From Heaven” written by Wayne Sulc. So, you get the picture. Homage is paid to artists who helped shape the preferences and styles of these musicians; hence the name Heroes and Legends. This is a magnificent studio collaboration that spanned a few years to its completion. I doubt that we will ever hear these musicians assembled live, so go to saxman productions or request it from your local music store to hear what I’ve been happily listening to. ”

Coconut Times

Susie Mudd Red Rocker Review February 2010         Urban Funk’s debut CD is why I am so determined to get my words heard, so I can spread the word out about our music. “Heroes and Legends” is easily one of the best pieces of music I have ever heard.   There is nothing really bad about this release. The best of the best are in this group.  These creative energies have created the masterful release. Heroes and Legends were born by the love of the saxophone. Probably, that is one of the reasons (our) Music keeps me dreaming of getting my energy and spirit  back, and Music Monthly (albeit) with a new name.  Heroes and Legends is brilliant.  Title tells it all, and when you hear the best we have lay down tracks and create magic.  On the disc are Steve Long, Wayne Sulc, Jeff Bonk, Don Junker; John Thomakos, Tim Cututrona, Chuck Underwood¸ Tommy Lepson ,and  Jennifer Smith.  If you get off on great, funky music, with amazing vocals, licks to die for, and freaking awesome drums, excuse me, I mean percussion.  I am sure the release is available wherever you can get good and bad music. Thank you so much for the gift of this CD. The first cut knocks me out, and it just keeps getting better from there. The fact that this record is all covers, doesn’t alter my opinion of this record—these guys picked some great tunes.  I imagine it was really fun laying down tracks for it. Phenomenal listen!” - Susie Mudd

Red Rocker Review

In perhaps the most significant partnership since launching a year ago in June 2010, ArtJamz participants will get a chance to paint while listening to live jazz in the Kogod Courtyard of the American Art Museum during three of the museum’s ongoing Thursday night “Take 5! Concerts.” The Robert and Arlene Kogod Courtyard designed by world-renowned architects at Foster + Partners in London In each of the three sessions, ArtJamz participants will get a chance to paint from 5PM to 8PM while taking in the live sounds of funk jazz bands. The June 16th session features live music from D.C.-based jazz band “Urban Funk;” the July 21st session features live jazz from “Funk Ark;” and The Kelly Bell Band headlines the August 18th session. It’s free to come to the Kogod Courtyard and listen to live jazz; however, for $40 participants can receive a 22x 28-sized canvas they get to keep, an easel, acrylic paints, brushes, art materials, the support of ArtJamz hosts and a chance to make art in one of America’s most iconic museums. Participants also receive 20% off drinks and food at the Courtyard Café during the session. “We are so thrilled about this partnership. It’s amazing to think that in just one year, we’ve gone from an experimental participatory art concept to hosting ArtJamz sessions within the walls of the Smithsonian American Art Museum. We can’t wait to see what kind of inspiration this beautiful courtyard and live jazz will give the artjammers,” says ArtJamz founder and Genki Media CEO Michael M. Clements.” - Staff

Art Jamz

Urban Funk Details Reader reviews [0] Please note: This event has already occurred.   Music Type: Funk/soul Quick Take The Smithsonian American Art Museum brings this jazz/R&B/Latin fusion band led by local saxophonist Wayne Sulc to the Kogod Courtyard for a free concert, part of the museum's "Take 5!" series. While you're listening, peruse the works in progress being painted by ArtJamz participants (ArtJamz has a temporary studio set up for the concerts). ” - Going Out Guru

The Washington Post

About Email Us! Get Eye Level by Email Eye Level Home American Art Home Visit Calendar Exhibitions Collections Conservation Research Education Support Social Media @ American Art Archives February 2013 January 2013 December 2012 November 2012 October 2012 September 2012 August 2012 July 2012 June 2012 May 2012 April 2012 March 2012 February 2012 January 2012 December 2011 November 2011 October 2011 September 2011 August 2011 July 2011 June 2011 May 2011 April 2011 March 2011 February 2011 January 2011 December 2010 November 2010 October 2010 September 2010 August 2010 July 2010 June 2010 May 2010 April 2010 March 2010 February 2010 January 2010 December 2009 November 2009 October 2009 September 2009 August 2009 July 2009 June 2009 May 2009 April 2009 March 2009 February 2009 January 2009 December 2008 November 2008 October 2008 September 2008 August 2008 July 2008 June 2008 May 2008 April 2008 March 2008 February 2008 January 2008 December 2007 November 2007 October 2007 September 2007 August 2007 July 2007 June 2007 May 2007 April 2007 March 2007 February 2007 January 2007 December 2006 November 2006 October 2006 September 2006 August 2006 July 2006 June 2006 May 2006 April 2006 March 2006 February 2006 January 2006 December 2005 November 2005 October 2005 September 2005 « Seeing Things (9): Cloudopolis | Eye Level Home | Cliff Lee and the Emperor's Old Glaze » Getting Funky with American Art's Take 5!June 14, 2011 Summer is almost officially here, though it already feels like it when we step out of the crisp, cool corridors of the museum. In celebration of the sunshine and swelter, one of our public programs assistants, Laurel Fehrenbach, has some ultra funky sessions of our monthly jazz series, Take 5!, lined up for you. Eye Level grabbed Laurel on the fly to ask her about what's in store. Urban Funk: On Tap This Thursday Eye Level: So, you're "funkdefying" your monthly jazz concerts this summer. Which bands are on stage? Laurel Fehrenbach: I'm really excited that I was able to grab some of the best local funk bands! DC has such an incredible history of jazz and that led directly into Funk and Go-Go. This Thursday, June 16, we have the Saxman himself, Wayne Sulc and Urban Funk. July 21 is the famed FunkArk, who are on the ESL label so we were lucky to nab them with their busy tour schedule. To close out the summer of a big not, the Kelly Bell Band will be on hand August 18. I can't wait! EL: Where did you find your summer acts? Do you browse sites like MySpace Music, scout shows yourself, or ask other local programmers for recommendations? LF: All of the above! Looking for funk bands was a pretty specific task so I had to do a lot of research and listen to a lot of great funk. Tough job, right? But someone has to do it! EL: Aside from the music, what other features to Take 5! will continue this summer? Anything new? LF: Summer seems to be a good time to experiment and try new things. We'll have our ever-popular board games, of course, but we'll also be working with the ArtJamz crew to add a visual art component to the concerts. EL: Tell us a little bit more about your collaboration with ArtJamz. LF: These guys are so cool! Michael Clements started this group in DC not long ago and it has totally taken off. For a registration fee they give you an easel, canvas, paints. The American Art Museum provides the free live funk music, galleries full of incredible art and the atmosphere of the Kogod Courtyard for added inspiration. You are free to unleash your inner artist and showcase your creativity on canvas while enjoying the concert and learning from your fellow painters. We'll see how funky everyone gets! EL: We're sure you have quite a few groups vying for the once-monthly Take 5! slot. Can you tell us what you look for in a potential performer, and how Take 5! hopefuls should apply? LF: I get lots of requests and I try to give everyone a fair shake. I'm more inclined to book bands that have never performed here before, but we also like to invite old friends back. If you are considering applying, send me a CD or direct me to your website with a reference or two. I tend to like quartets or larger, because the Courtyard is such a big space. High energy and audience engagement makes the best performances, but I also really love to work with groups on making connections between the artwork in galleries and the music they are performing. If you are a jazz musician and have ideas how your repertoire supports our collection, let me know! Jazz, Funk, Summer, DC, American Art, Smithsonian American Art Museum You might also like: ” - Staff

Eye Level

Skip to main content Follow us OnTopic custom content solutions Learn more about how Examiner.com can help your site. Sign up Arts & Entertainment Celebrity Cultural Arts Arts & Exhibits Performing Arts Music Bars & Clubs Nightlife Food Recipes Restaurants Video More 'Urban Funk' free Thursday eve at the Smithsonian (Photos) Take 5! June 13, 2011 By: Patricia Leslie 3 photosView the full slideshow »  0 0 Email Arts & Exhibits newsletter E-mail * Show do not change  Contact Email Contact Email2 Contact Url Subscribe to Blog Remember my Info Related topics Smithsonian American Art Museum jazz concerts free concerts Related Ads Live Band DC Hollywood Free Photos Advertisement Jazz, rhythm and blues, percussion and Latin music mixed make Urban Funk's sounds of "funk fusion," certain to energize and make happy all listeners at the Smithsonian American Art Museum Thursday evening. Wayne Sulc on saxophone is the leader of Urban Funk, a local DC band.   View slideshow: Avi Wisnia at the Smithsonian Their performance is one of the monthly "Take 5!" series on stage at the Kogod Courtyard in the museum across the street from the Verizon Center. There is no charge to attend, but you may want to purchase beverages and a treat or two for additional enjoyment.   Games for guests to play are also available at no charge, and there's plenty of room for dancing. During band breaks, visitors may want to take advantage of an exhibit or two at SAAM or the National Portrait Gallery before 7 p.m. when they close. The Avi Wisnia Band at the Smithsonian in May Photo credit:  Patricia Leslie   Who: Urban Funk What: Take 5! When: 5-8 p.m., Thursday, June 16, 2011 Where: The Kogod Courtyard at the Smithsonian American Art Museum at 8th and F streets, NW Cost: No charge Metro stations: Gallery Place-Chinatown, Metro Center, or Navy Memorial-Archives For more information: 202-633-1000 or 202-633-7970 More Take 5s! Coming up: Thursday, July 21, 5-8 p.m., Funk Art, "soulful big band" with keyboardist Will Rast and "a gang of ten by his side Thursday, August 18, 5-8 p.m., Kelly Bell Band, voted the Best Blues Band in the mid-Atlantic region for 12 years patricialesliexam@gmail.com Related Searches Live Band DC Hollywood Free Photos Suggested by the author: Take 5! at SAAM's jazz nights Afro Bop Alliance at Smithsonian's Take Five! President Andrew Jackson at The National Portrait Gallery Elvis Presley! Live and on stage at the National Portrait Gallery Where is former Mayor, Ambassador, U.S. Congressman Andrew Young?  by Taboola You May Like   Reggie Bush: ‘Kim Kardashian is a disgusting woman…’   Wow! Is Kim Kardashian's butt really this curvy?? (photos)   9-year-old gives birth: 17-year-old father sought by Mexico authorities   Kate Middleton’s pubic hair becomes a joke after bottomless photos leak   Lindsey Vonn leg photo goes viral (Warning: graphic image) (Video)   Scott Hall dying: Former WWE star tells Jake Roberts he is a 'dying man'  Newsmax  These 5 Things Start Cancer in Your Body. Watch Video.Newsmax  Moneynews  Billionaire Tells Americans to Prepare For "Financial Ruin"Moneynews Advertisement  0 0 Email Print Report Patricia Leslie, DC cultural events Examiner Patricia Leslie is a woman of the night and the weekend who roams the District pursuing cultural and athletic delights which feed her spirit. Her label, The Queen of Free, stems from her wallet. You may contact Patricia with your comments and questions. ” - Patricia Leslie

The Examiner

Facebook

Cold Sweat

Urban Funk: Heroes And Legends

Join the email list!